Reflection on Amal Totkay

What is mean by growth mindset?

Azeem Razzak
5 min readApr 9, 2021

A growth mindset means that you believe your intelligence and talents can be developed over time. A fixed mindset means that you believe intelligence is fixed so if you’re not good at something, you might believe you’ll never be good at it.

AMAL TOTKAY

Self Talk

I believe that positive self-talk is an inner monologue that makes us feel good about ourselves and everything going on in our life. It’s an optimistic voice in our head that encourages us to look at the bright side, pick ourselves up when we fall, and recognize when we fail.

Positive vs. Negative Self-Talk

Well, I believe there’s a big difference between positive and negative self-talk. Positive self-talk tells us things like “I’m doing my best” or “I don’t feel too great today, but things could be worse.” It allows you to look at the bright side and encourage yourself. On the other hand, negative self-talk makes us feel bad about ourselves and our overall life. For example, I might say, “Everything is terrible right now” or “I’m not smart enough to do this. I should do better.”

How I feel about myself can hinge on promoting positive self-talk instead of negative self-talk. Often, we take negative things people say to us and replay them in our heads over and over. Eventually, we hear the message from ourselves so often that we start to feel angry, fearful, or even guilty. Overwriting these thoughts with positive self-talk changes those feelings to joy, optimism, and contentment.

GET OUT OF YOUR COMFORT ZONE

The ability to take risks by stepping outside from our comfort zone is the primary way by which we grow. But we are often afraid to take that first step.

In truth, comfort zones are not really about comfort, they are about fear. Break the chains of fear to get outside. Once you do, you will learn to enjoy the process of taking risks and growing in the process.

I have figured out 10 ways that can push us from our comfort zone and get closer to success,

1. Become Aware of What’s Outside of Your Comfort Zone

2. Become Clear About What You Are Aiming to Overcome

3. Get Comfortable with Discomfort

4. See Failure as a Teacher

5. Take Baby Steps

6. Hang out with Risk Takers

7. Identify How Stepping out Will Benefit us

Final Thought

It will seem really scary at first to get out of your comfort zone. But as I said, instead of jumping right out of our comfort zone we can take baby steps.

As we slowly push past our comfort zone, we’ll feel more and more at ease about the new stuff which seemed so dangerous to us.

Ask people for help

In a society that praises self-help and self-reliance, it is becoming increasingly difficult for us to ask our colleagues, friends, and even our family for the assistance we need. The mere thought of asking for help can eat away at our ego, undermine our confidence, make us question our abilities, and even paralyze us with anxiety. Yet in modern life at a time when we are more digitally connected and emotionally detached than ever, the stark reality is that no one can go it alone.

Learning how to ask for (and accept) help is perhaps one of the greatest skills you can develop. Luckily, new research shows that asking for and actually getting help is a lot easier and less daunting than it seems

But first, let’s examine our contradictory reluctance to take advantage of this evolutionary altruism.

4 Tips to Ask for (and Get) Help

  1. Be concise and specific
  2. Don’t apologize
  3. Make it personal, not transactional.
  4. Follow up with results.

FAKE IT TILL YOU MAKE IT

Fake it till you make it is an English aphorism that suggests that by imitating, competence and an optimistic mindset, a person can realize those qualities in their real life and achieve the results they seek.

HERE ARE A FEW WAYS TO FAKE THAT CONFIDENT FEELING, EVEN WHEN YOU ARE NOT FEELING IT

1. Stand up straight. Body language has a lot to do with how others perceive confidence.

2. Highlight your competence to feel confident

3. Maintain eye contact

4. Get physical

5. Upgrade your manners

6. Project work

7. Dress the part

8. Choose optimism

The above-mentioned tips are “AMAL TOTKAY”. And the fondness for these totkas is high because they make life so easy and interesting, but my most favorite tip is “SELF-TALK and COMING OUT OF MY COMFORT ZONE”. As I found it so interesting and amazing to discover myself by talking to myself however I didn’t do the experience When in your comfort zone, your brain doesn’t want anything to change. I reckon that our needs are met, we have zero stress, and our brain recognizes that the body is surviving and It’s a recipe for steady performance. Our brain especially doesn’t like change. It requires so much energy for the day-to-day activity that it doesn’t want to give extra resources to the attention required to do new things and getting out of your comfort zone from time to time creates just enough good stress to ramp up our focus, creativity, pace, and drive, and it helps respond to life stress when unexpected things happen, but when I join AMAL Fellowship and did the first course that was knowing yourself that was an exquisite experience and after doing that wonderful experience I practiced it out on daily basis, not only that I tried and pushed my self from my comfort to pursue my goals because bringing my self out from the comfort zone is the only way to taste success.

I will try my best to apply all of the five AMAL TOTKAY in my everyday life as they are very helpful to push myself to pursue my goal.

--

--