Leadership by staying organized

Azeem Razzak
3 min readApr 1, 2021

--

When you grow up, life becomes tougher and by tough, I mean life gives you more challenges and it all depends on you and your everyday leadership skills. It is important to know how to tackle your problems and cope with every situation by remaining composed.

I am a University student, and whether you agree or not on it; University life is the most hectic stage of the educational part of life. It’s not only because of the studies and all, no! It is because, at this stage, you have to manage yourself, groom yourself, and train yourself to become the better version. So, at this stage of my life, I have to complete my assignments, lab journals, projects, and whatnot. Also, I have to pass through different good and bad times of life because studying is not everything. Life also teaches you to pass through your mood swings which are very common at this stage and it is natural because we are growing, and with new years of life, we develop a different kind of feelings but we should know how much we should stay overwhelmed on a particular mood or situation.

This week’s project at Amal Academy has been really interesting in which we learned about exercising leadership skills. I had never realized how much important it is to develop leadership authority in oneself. It should start with the personal belongings; I will start it from my room. My room nowadays has become a messy place with no proper organization of my things, books, etc.

My books begging me to be organized!

So that’s a view of my cupboard, you can see clearly how much messy it looks with loads of books, notebooks, and many other weird and useless things. I used the term useless here because literally in there, I have some things which should be in the dustbin only. Moreover, you can see some shoppers containing more books and notes so; these are the stuff which I have to give to my juniors because they are of no use to me anymore.

No one is going to believe this but, it only took me fifteen minutes to organize my stuff. Now, I arranged my things priority wise and I only set the things of use to me. So, I discarded the trash, took out the stuff for juniors, and arranged my books in the right order.

Placidity

When I was doing this activity, I was sitting in my bedroom and I identified my cupboard as the thing that needs to be fixed because of its pathetic condition (and the scolds of my mother of course!). It needed to be in an organized form so that it will be easy for me to select my things and most importantly, it will give a good impression on the people that will enter my room. I just utilized few calories of my energy to do this task and after doing this task, it hit me how much lazy I had been all this time. To be very honest, I would have done this task even if I had not been asked to do so. Because, I needed to set my things in their right place for the sake of my satisfaction but, I would not have done this now if it had not been for the activity. Whenever I thought about setting my cupboard, I start feeling lazy and think of it a very tiring work but I had no idea that I had been neglecting the leadership skills in myself.

This activity is related to lead without authority and every day leadership because a leader needs to stay organized first to lead or organize other people which are working under him. I am feeling relieved after setting up my room and personal belongings and I think that I can stay organized and keep other people and things organized too.

--

--